I hate that I love it – Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge Review

Two months ago, I wanted a change from the monotonous look of the iPhone I was using. Although the iPhone 6S Plus did whatever it did very well, I wanted to see what Samsung had to offer since the arrival of the S6 and Note5 lineup along with the new design and UI upgrades. So, I went ahead and got myself a Samsung S7 Edge. I used it for a good two months and I have a few things to say about it. If you’re reading this I assume, you either want to get a new phone or you like me, a tech junkie,want to know how the new phones are doing. A YouTuber I follow said that “Nowadays, you can’t say if a phone is good with the great things it has to offer but by the number of flaws you are able to find in them”. So, here we go. Let me tell you a few things I loved about this phone and a few that made me change the phone.

THINGS I LOVED:

  1. The Design: Sigh! there are very few phones in the market that you can say “DAMNNNNNNNN SON, that’s a gorgeous phone”. Well, this is one of those you can say it to. The design is just beautiful! The curved display in the front made the phone feel a whole lot thinner and made you wonder if there was another way to hold the phone; it makes you want to keep using the phone. However, I don’t know if the curved display was of any use in specific. That must be something maybe the S8, S9 or S10 could come up to use it to its full potential.

    14570023211457001616_TMO_S7edge_Silver_Left_600x600
    THIS BLOG claims no credit for any images posted on this site unless otherwise noted. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owner.
  2. The Camera: This phone’s camera is PHENOMENAL!!! It’s freaking INCREDIBLE. I have used a lot of the phone camera’s on the market but nothing I have used so far comes close to the quality of picture this phone reproduces. All you have to do for great pictures on this phone is point and shoot it in the right direction of the image.20160602_12305520160602_12311320160609_094815
  3. The Display: AMOLED displays are by far the best display ever. The crisp and clean look you get on this display is amazing. I love it when I put the brightness up to a 100% but then I remember I love to use my phone for a longer period of time and 100% brightness eats up the battery like the cookie monster eating cookies and so I tend to turn down the brightness immediately.
  4. The UI: Samsung had a rough start getting their UI correct. Till now apart from HTC, every other UI I thought was quite bad. But Samsung started rolling up their sleeves and giving us what we wanted- something minimalistic but with an interactive User Interface. I love that they have their own theme store that customizes the phone on a touch of a button. Not that the UI is perfected it did have its flaws which were quite irritating.
  5. IP68 Certified: Now, I didn’t think this would make much of a difference for me, but the last whole month I was travelling and during this time it was raining in certain places. This trip was the only time I wasn’t worried about the phone getting damaged due to water and it did get wet a few times! I just took a dry cloth to it and it was all good. Although I was very tempted to put it in water and try it out, I chickened out. But having the feature did give me a piece of mind I didn’t know I needed.

    Samsung-Galaxy-S7-Edge-AH-NS-wet-titanium-04 copy
    THIS BLOG claims no credit for any images posted on this site unless otherwise noted. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owner.

 

THINGS I HATED:

  1. The Fingerprint Sensor: I think after using something like the iPhone, you start to want all devices to have a sensor that good. But maybe it was only my device; I thought the sensor was quite bad, only 5 out of 10 times I felt the sensor worked well. Now, I do feel its the shape of the sensor that has created this issue though I am not that sure.
  2. Easily Breakable: This is beautiful phone because of curved display. But the curved display could be its biggest bane as it is the greatest boon. There isn’t a case I have used that could save the screen on impact and if the case is there I think it will completely remove the aesthetics of the phone. My phone fell down less than 1 feet and the LCD got messed up. This was the main reason for me to give up the device. Now I know I could use a tempered glass, which I did try to find by for a curved screen the glass is expensive and touch screen response goes down drastically if you are lucky to get one.
    20160313_134649
    THIS BLOG claims no credit for any images posted on this site unless otherwise noted. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owner.

    20160313_134746
    THIS BLOG claims no credit for any images posted on this site unless otherwise noted. Images on this blog are copyright to its respectful owner.
  3. The UI: I use the Bluetooth of a phone A LOT! So when this feature was quite buggy it was frustrating using the phone. So ended up moving to just a regular earphones. But then again it could be just my device. I tried to add a custom launcher like the Nova Launcher which is my favorite but the knock to lock feature doesn’t work because it clashes with the Samsung security policies and then the fingerprint reader doesn’t work, which was sad because I wanted to tap to lock and NOT tap to unlock.

Overall I would say, unlike me, if you are the person who doesn’t rough use your phone too much and can take care of it this is a phone you should definitely cons. But if there is a possibility that your phone could be dropped and then its more of an “Uh-Oh” moment I recommend you stay clear, the cost of a new display is half the price of the phone. So, you have been warned. Well as for me I think an iPhone 6S seems like a good option and putting a tempered glass in front, I think I am good. I might post up why I moved to an iPhone 6S instead of the 6S Plus (which I had previously) in the next post. So stay tuned. Thanks for reading and views. Cheers!

 

One thought on “I hate that I love it – Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge Review

Leave a Reply

