When I grow up….

As a kid we have all have heard pretty much this question asked a million times over and over again. What do you want to be when you grow up? Some of us wanted to be a pilot, some a firefighter, heck; some others may be a superhero. But we were confident we wanted to become someone. And as we grew older, the answer became more and more ambiguous.  But, a few months ago I heard a kid in a viral video, that said “When I grow up I want to be HAPPY“.

This made me wonder, about this strange phenomenon called “HAPPINESS”. How it changes based on what happens to us and each of us define it differently. Some regard wealth as happiness, others a state or serenity in mind makes them happy. However, secretly but surely we all are in search of this phenomenon. We rest on religion for it, we trust people to bring it, we believe a fancy car, a big house, successful children, etc. might define it.

But I have come to realize that this is something we have to define and redefine ourselves. HAPPINESS is fantastic because its depend on us. We can choose to be Happy; we can choose not to be Happy. It not someone else’s job to make you happy or keep you that way. Now, we can let this get to us from the car that cut you off on the road, the boss that gave you a piece of his mind, the wife who was disappointed since you forgot your anniversary, the coffee spilled on your brand new converse shoe, all of this can get to you; if you let it. The guy who cut you off might have been late for a meeting, the boss who gave you a piece of his mind might have had a deadline to complete your work, the wife who was disappointed must have waited all year so she could spend a whole day with you or that new converse that got spoiled might have been something you couldn’t avoid. You can still choose to be happy and not let these bother your day.

YES, the above is none of your problems. But if you want to make it your problem, it can become a problem that you have to deal. Now that’s completely on you. Yes, this does mean you are to keep calm and carry on. Yup, it is easier said than done, but it can be done. You can still choose to be happy and not let these bother you. You can make the difference in your day. Your smile to the waiter that had a bad day could make him feel like “looks like today is getting better.”

So as I grew up, I understood that this is a beautiful life because I wish to be happy in the situation I am in, whether it’s the good, the bad or the ugly. I want to be happy and not let someone else define my happiness for me. For every cloud has a silver lining. And you can hate the rain or just drenched it in and say “Damn! That was fun!” Either way, you are not going to stop it from raining. So do what makes you happy. Don’t let someone else take that from you. Fight for your happiness against even yourself, and once you have it; protect it with all you have.

So, when I grow up, I want to be HAPPY. Thanks for viewing guys! Cheers!

 

“I am determined to be cheerful and happy in whatever situation I may find myself. For I have learned that the greater part of our misery or unhappiness is determined not by our circumstance but by our disposition.” – Martha Washington

 

Leave a Reply

