Mac Book Air 11.6″ Review

All images are copyrighted to their respective owners. No copyright infringement intended
All images are copyrighted to their respective owners. No copyright infringement intended

Portability, a word that catches me every time I use a tech product. I always wondered about how little could a laptop go until it becomes perfect to take around and big enough to use regularly, apparently the answer was 11.6″. Yes, Yes now for all the people who say I love bigger, brighter screens this isn’t something you would even want to consider. Don’t get me wrong, I love using my 15″ Mac Book Pro. But throwing it into a bag to take it to work or head to a coffee shop to work on your blog 15 inches can get tiresome after some time. Now for those with massive shoulders and biceps, the 15 inch laptop is cute but for me,  I enjoy that I can take something this small put it inside my bag and carry it around almost everywhere and many times forget its even in my bag.

The version I am using is MacBook Air (11-inch, Early 2015), 1.6 GHz Intel Core i5, 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, with 256 SSD. Now I brought this not to game or edit videos and photos. I brought it just to do the minimal that I need to get done. Now I did have a Surface Pro 3. But, I felt it wasn’t something that I could use it on my lap for more than ten mins. If I changed the position while it’s on my lap, the keyboard might detach and I didn’t want to be the one to break a Surface that has an abysmal score of 1/10 on the Fix it scales (1 being the lowest); meaning you broke it you are going to be paying dearly to get it fixed. There is also the fact that Windows was so unpredictable. Something you hate if you came from using OSX. So, why move to a MacBook Air? I can give you three great reasons: PORTABILITY, PORTABILITY, and some more PORTABILITY.

Now, although it was the main reason I picked it up, I was surprised at how well it was at doing work on because the keyboard was great. An entirely functional keyboard like other Mac’s. And the battery was great too it gives a good 8-9 Hours before it gives up on you and your work. Now, like most other tech product that I prone to damage I ended up getting a case to throw it confidently around and not worry where am I placing it or if it bumped somewhere unintentionally. The system is smooth and is currently running El Capitan smoothly.

AuLGm8-t631HIGB6vLb64UkYMzZAUB9dF2YqS0vCQVSy

AuRQ6CMwMkERyX8w9SDyFIN9giSCaeb1UKmkTcb88Hj0

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are things that I knew it didn’t have when I picked this baby up. The lack of Retina display is a serious bummer because the screen is so much more beautiful on the MacBook Pro with the Retina. But it wasn’t a deal breaker so picked it up anyway. I am enjoying the use of it thoroughly. It’s light, portable, familiar software (to me), great battery so what’s not to like?. If you are looking for something just to throw in your bag and take it around I would recommend this and if you like a bigger screen real estate then the 13″ is great too and it give you an additional 3 hours of battery life. The only thing there you need to worry about is not losing your charger since you don’t charge it that often like traditional laptops.

In Kuwait, I found that “www.blink.com.kw” gives the best deals on this. So check them out if you are interested. If you have been using the MacBook Air, what’s your take on it?. Want to upgrade? Like it? Hate it?. Mention it in the comments. Thanks for viewing! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

